Switching from Android to iOS for Phone

I’m switching over to having just the one phone versus having a personal phone and a work phone. When I go my new work phone (iPhone SE), a month or so ago, I realized its capabilities are sufficient enough to warrant saving the $60/month from maintaining my aging, but still lovely, Samsung Galaxy s5.

Because my s5 contract had a bit over a month until expiring, I had the luxury of being able to take my time moving accounts and finding analogous apps.

Android to iOS:

  • Google Inbox – Essentially the same experience on both devices
  • Chrome – Essentially the same experience on both devices
  • Podcasts – Podcast Addict -> iPhone Podcast app – The stock iPhone app is not as feature robust in its feature set. I’d like to tailor how many episodes I keep, by default, and also to customize each ‘cast’s settings. I’ll likely switch to another app when I get the time. Please comment below if you have suggestions.
  • Authenticators
    • Google – Essentially the same experience on both devices
    • LastPass – Essentially the same experience on both devices
    • Glympse – Mostly the same but I think I prefer the Android version. It’s probably just experiential bias at this point.
  • Google Cast – Better on Android, but I’d expect that.
  • Google Maps – Haven’t played with it yet.

Summary:

There is definitely no reason to spend the $60/month for the tiny nuances that make me favor a few Android features. The smaller screen is annoying, but that’s not a function of the OS; it’s the model of the phone. Perhaps I’d feel different if I had a larger iPhone.

I am interested in revisiting these thoughts after I’ve been solely iOS for six months when Android will seem like more of a distant memory.

Leave a Reply

