Test Rode an Indian Chief Vintage

2015-06-13

A year later, and I’m still eyeing up the Indian. See TwoWheelObsession’s ride review of the 2015 Scout here. He did a really fantastic job of describing the nuances of his ride.

2014-06-29
A friend of mine and I trekked to Madison, Wisconsin yesterday and test rode a couple of Indians. I took out the Chief Vintage while my friend rode the Chief Classic.

Upon mounting the bike, its amazing balance was immediately apparent and striking. Swaying it side to side made this 111 ci bike (roughly 1820 cc) feel like a 350 cc, making me feel my ’06 102 cu Roadstar is a bit top heavy. The balance must have been designed by a master Katana sword-maker’s gentle yet oh so precise hand.

Indian_2014 Chief Vintage

[Pictured: 2014 Indian Chief Vintage, and me, with my shirt over my left thumb making it look like I’m cramming my hands down my pants. Picture by Anthony Sadowski.]

The acceleration was electric smooth with each gear stage instantly responsive. It actually seemed to gain torque as the revs and gears increased upwardly. Changing gears seemed a teeny bit clunky at first, but that may have just been me getting used to the difference between it and my own bike. By the end of the ride that too was smooth.

Slowing down, for a roundabout, to a momentary stop, inspired no wobbling feeling; the bike wanted to stay upright. I turned the fork and proceeded on with the turning-ease of a scooter. Later, coming to a full stop for a moment prior to going through a stop sign, I repeated the process, not putting my foot down nor feeling the need to do so.

We journeyed out in the country and really throttled them up, to higher RPM’s. I never ran out of oomph. The bike just wanted to keep giving. It was a phenomenal experience. Even the slow city driving was fun.

Will I be getting one? Not any time soon. I am still loving my 1700 Road Star Silverado and I do not need two cruisers, but if it’s ever time for me to replace her, one of these will be at the top of my list. The bar has just been set awfully high.

Leave a Reply

